Volkswagen Ameo Cup 2018 at Buddh International Circuit

The MMSC MRF Volkswagen Ameo Cup 2018 season ended with the final round at the Buddh International Circuit (BIC), India’s Formula 1 track, in Greater Noida on Sunday, October 7, 2018.

Volkswagen Ameo Cup 2018 Championship at Buddh International Circuit
Winners of Volkswagen Ameo Cup 2018 Championship at Buddh International Circuit

The final round of the Volkswagen Ameo Cup proved to be an exciting end to what has been an already thrilling season. Ameo cup cars raced for the first time at Buddh International Circuit. It was a nail biting season where the rookie drivers were very close to the professional drivers and gave them a tough time on the race track.

The Final Round of Volkswagen Ameo Cup 2018 at BIC

The final round of the 2018 season of Volkswagen Ameo Cup commenced at Buddh International Circuit on Saturday. Prior to that, Ameo Cup drivers had one full day at their disposal for practice sessions at BIC on Thursday followed by an additional unofficial free practice session on Friday before the official rounds took off on Saturday.

The first race started with Dhruv Mohite, the title-favourite taking a lead in the first corner. But later, an incident with Pratik Sonawane in the first lap pushed him down the order. Eventually, Dhruv Behl, the guest driver, won the first race in the morning followed by Pratik Sonawane in second spot and Saurav Bandyopadhyay ending third in the race.

The grid was reversed in the second race. Jeet Jabhakh took pole position, with Dhruv in second and Anmol Singh starting in third position. Everyone got off to a clean start and cleared the first lap. However, Tauhid Anwar and Akshay Bhivshet spun off in the first corner bringing out the Safety Car in the second lap. Finally, Jeet Jhabhak clinched the top spot followed by Mohite in the second race later in the evening.

There were battles continuing behind them for third place. Anmol Singh ended up making a move for third place on the last lap, clinching the final podium position. Mohite’s second-place finish garnered him enough points to ensure a solid lead in the championship.

The Winners of Volkswagen Ameo Cup 2018

The championship battle ended with Dhruv Mohite from Kolhapur winning the title. Saurav Bandyopadhyay settled for the first runner up and Jeet Jabhakh finished third overall in the Volkswagon Ameo Cup 2018 championship.

Image: Volkswagen Motorsport India Facebook

Stay tuned with Noida Diary for stories, events and more.
Do hit the “Subscribe” button to get News and Updates on Noida and around. 

Noida Diary – Rediscover Noida With Us
Subscribe now to Noida Diary

Get the latest Updates. Check the Noida Events CalendarYou can see the list of this month’s events here.

Follow us on

Join Us on Facebook
Follow on Twitter
Follow on Instagram
Subscribe to Our YouTube Channel

Add Comment